GED® Test Information

If you didn’t finish high school, you can still demonstrate that you have the same skills and knowledge as a high school graduate through a test.

This test is called a high school equivalency (HSE) credential. For many years, Ohio only offered the GED® exam, but in 2017, the Ohio Department of Education approved three HSE testing assessment options for adult learners: GED, TASC®, and HiSET®.

The New GED® Test (2014)

As of January 2, 2014, the GED® test is now based on the common core state standards, designed to better prepare people for higher education and the workforce.

The test requires more strategic and abstract thinking, and includes complex problem solving and analysis. It is 100% computerized and costs $120 for the four sections of math, science, social studies, and language arts. Students may choose to take each section separately; each section is $30.

Seeds of Literacy redesigned its curriculum to meet these new, rigorous standards. We also created a digital literacy curriculum and added a computer lab to our classroom.

Try a few sample GED test questions:
GED Language Arts 2014
GED Science 2014
GED Math 2014
GED Social Studies 2014

GED Test History


The GED Test


Benefits of Taking the GED Test